The American Music Awards Celebrates New EDM Category

Last night Dick Clark Productions threw the 40th Anniversary American Music Awards at the LA Live Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles, hosted by none other than todays king of top 40 radio Ryan Seacrest. In preparation of the live broadcast they held an invite only pre-party at LA Live's Club Nokia to celebrate the nominees and artists of the new Electronic Dance Music category. Nominees where David Guetta, Calvin Harris and Skrillex, none of which who were in attendance, but special performers Nero, Audrey Napoleon and Cole were the DJ selectors for the evenings' party Friday, November 16th.

Artists such as Shiny Toy Guns' Jeremy Dawson, PennyBirdRabbit, Rebecca & Fiona, Photek, The Wanted's Nathan Sykes, Morgan Page, Kerli, Junkie XL and KCRW's Jason Bentley joined media, press and EDM enthusiasts on the red carpet of the Club Nokia pre-party. Inside guests were meet with Nokia employees serving blue drinks with light up ice cubes and music note stirrers as dance music resonated from the speakers. Simulating an exclusive high-end EDM party, attendees were supposed to be celebrating the inception of the new category in the American Music Awards. Most party goers were mingling and taking pictures in the Nokia cell phone photo booth rather than actually paying attention to the DJs.

See Also:
*Top Five Worst Places to Get Your EDM News
*Audrey Napoleon, EDM's Electro Queen, Went From Performing in Malls to Producing Her Own Clothing Line
*Nero on EDM Naysayers, Clubbing and the Possibility of Another Track With Skrillex


By the time Nero came on for their DJ set the small VIP room at the Club Nokia was full and everyone had enough free drinks to begin dancing while the lights to the room changed colors along with the beat of the music. Nero pleased those in attendance (who lets be honest are probably not as well versed in dance music) by splicing songs from the White Stripes, to their single “Promises” and even incorporating some trap music which is popular in the clubs right now. When the event ended around midnight, those still in attendance were ready for the after party.

For the sixth year in a row, winners of the AMA's were determined by online voting in all categories from Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative, Adult Contemporary and Latin. The award show was performance filled by those dominating the Top 40 charts including Pink, Nicki Minaj, Taylor Swift, Kelly Clarkson, Kesha, Usher, Carly Rae Jepsen, Justin Bieber, Christina Aguilera, Carrie Underwood, No Doubt and a very special ending performance by Korean sensation Psy. Psy was joined by MC Hammer for a “Gangnam Style” vs. “Too Legit to Quit” mash-up dance off which, in an odd way, made sitting through the whole show actually worth it and had everyone fist pumping like it was 1990. Though David Guetta wasn't in attendance to accept his award, it became clear that like it or not electronic dance music is here to stay and is making waves in today's mainstream music industry.

Follow us on Twitter @OCWeeklyMusic and Like us on Facebook Heard Mentality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *